Cromer Town Council & Committee Functions

Cromer Town Council comprises 16 elected members representing 2 electoral wards (Cromer Town and Suffield Park). It meets every 6 weeks. Meeting are on a Monday evening and start at 7pm. The dates and agendas of meetings are also put in the porch at North Lodge and on public notice boards. Parishioners are welcome to attend all meetings and have an opportunity during Public Participation to ask questions about any matters concerning the Parish. Town Council meetings have agendas which follow a similar format which includes:

  • Receiving a report from the local police representative
  • Adopting the minutes of the Committee meetings
  • Receiving questions from the public
  • Questions to NNDC & County Council members
  • Mayor’s Report

There are 4 committees:

  • Planning Transportation & Environment Committee
  • Promotions & Developments Committee
  • Policy and Resources Committee
  • Work & General Purposes Committee

This committee considers all planning applications referred for comment by NNDC. Applications, when received are advertised on the noticeboards in the Museum Garden and Station Road. We welcome written comments from the public. The committee also considers highway and transportation matters. 

North Lodge Park is a licensed venue for marriages, renewal of vows, civil partnerships and baby naming ceremonies. The committee oversees this function. It also arranges the Annual Town Meeting in April to which a full range of speakers of interest to the community are invited. It also publishes the Annual Report of the Town Council. It liaises with other organisations connected to the Town Council such as the New Year Day Fireworks, the Twinning Association and Cromer in Bloom. It oversees the Annual Cromer Honours Awards and the sale of merchandise commissioned by the Town Council. 

This committee is responsible for all the staffing matters, Town Council assets, finances and policies. It promotes training for both councillors and staff. 

This committee is responsible for the cemeteries, street lights and open spaces of the town.